Updates and Future Events

So this is my first post in a while, been glad to see that some people have started keeping an eye on my blog/site.  Thought I’d give everyone who’s interested an update and perhaps focus on some of the current events of my world, and what can be expected in the near future.

I’ve been having some difficulty writing these last couple of weeks due to a few health problems; nothing very big, mind you – stomachaches due to too much cheese is hardly something to get scared about – but big enough that it sort of made my anxiety go haywire and prevented me from sleeping the way I was supposed to.  I’ve recovered now, thankfully, though it’s been a major setback considering that I planned to have a lot more done by this point.

On that note, you guys are in for a treat come 2017.  This upcoming January I am going to start posting more stuff about Matyr, this time individual lore posts geared towards a specific region/realm of the world.  You’ll start to see some future concept art, maps, and other tasty details included in these posts as well, so for those of you who are map jockeys or like tacky art/creature design you might have something cool to enjoy yourselves with.  This is all geared towards a single purpose: by roughly around the second week of January, perhaps by January 14th (or sooner), I will have posted the prologue and first chapter for my first web serial – The Companions.

I don’t want to spoil anything about the story, of course, but my plan is that this is going to be just the first of many serial novels/novellas made featuring this world and many of its characters.  It’ll feature many things common in tales of high adventure, such as epic quests, princesses (or occasionally princes) to rescue, monsters to fight, villains to defeat and outwit, and so on.  My hope, however, is that this series will differ greatly from traditional fantasy stories in that it avoids many of the traps and pitfalls those stories make, such as telling readers about what’s going on instead of showing them, or bouncing between character perspectives when the focus is supposed to be on the perspective and thoughts of just one of them.  I’m going to try to make these serials third person limited, with each chapter dedicated to the perspective of a specific character whenever possible.

That’s pretty much it for now.  Stay tuned, I will try and get the first of those lore posts ready and submitted by the First of January.  Until then, me out!

-Kerian

Leave a Reply

